“That the powerful play goes on, and you may contribute a verse”

Dear Family and Friends,

This last week has possible been the most busy week of my mission, no joke.  I was a day in Comodoro, a day in Puerto Madryn, and several days in meetings here in Trelew.  Not to mention Saturday was Independence Day here in Argentina so that made Saturday interesting:)  But it was super fun!
We did have a miracle in the work though, even being so busy.  On Monday, we found an investigator named Rocio.  She’s super cool, and the lesson we had with her was great.  We taught Lesson 3, the Gospel of Jesus Christ, and when we got to the point about baptism, she told us that she had never been baptized, and wanted to do so, and asked if we could baptize her:)  So that was super cool:)
We had another miracle doing the paperwork to make another elder legal this week:)  We had to go pay for the paper in the bank, but the migrations office didn’t tell us until an hour before they closed.  So we got to the bank and took out a turn, and realized that it was for two hours later.  We were like “oh crap, we’re going to have to come back up here because the office is going to close already.”  Our weekly allowance as zone leaders was already out for the coming week, and we were kind of stuck.  So we said a quick prayer and just put our faith that everything was going to turn out.  5 minutes later a woman walks up to us and gives us a piece of paper, we look at it, and it’s a turn that was 35 before ours!  We ended up paying the fee and arriving in the migrations office 5 minutes before it closed!  It was amazing!
I also had a first this week, but don’t worry, nothing really bad happened.  It just scratched my arm a little bit.  But I got bit by a dog!  It was my fault though.  We were playing with a frisbee with an investigator and a dog shows up and starts chasing the frisbee and starts getting really excited.  So we start throwing it faster so it doesn’t tackle us when we have the frisbee.  But someone threw me a floater and the dog caught up as I grabbed it and the dog, instead of grabbing the frisbee, grabbed my arm,  Fortunatly I was layered, so it only scratched me, and didn’t even rip my shirt (not the same story about my sweater though:))  But now I can say I’ve lived the mission, being bit by a dog:)
One last thought real quick.  I was going through my stuff the other day and found a little card that my English teacher my senior year, Ms. Merril, gave to all of us.  It had a quote by Walt Whitman that really got me thinking.  “That the powerful play goes on, and you may contribute a verse.”  Followed by the question “What will your verse be?”  At the point I really didn’t understand the quote completely, but now after nearly two years in the mission field I understand it much more.  We’re such a small part of this world, such a small part of God’s plan, or his play.  But even being so small, we have been given the opportunity to act our part.  How are we going to act it?  How are we going to put our mark on this great act?  I’m going to meditate on that this week, and I invite all of you to do the same.  What is your part in God’s plan?  How are you going to help him in his Play (Plan) of Salvation?
¡Les quiero mucho!
Elder Trenton Behunin

The 4th of July Asado! So good!

2016-7-5 the muertos of the leadership council elder Clark, goodman, me , Housley, Boyd, Cardwell, Trost, Cano, Smith, and Hermana Littlefireld! THe quality wasn't great, but the picture yeah!

The “muertos” of the Leadership council!  (Elders Clark, Goodman, me, Housley, Boyd, Cardwell, Trost, Cano, Smith, and Hermana Littlefield!)  The quality wasn’t great, but the picture yeah:)

Puerto Madryn (Elders Trost, Pans, Souza, and me)2016-7-9 my dog bite

My dog bite! 🙂

Leave a Reply

