The Restoration

Dear Family and Friends,
While all of you guys are starting your summer vacations, it’s getting cold down here.  Like, coat weather every day!  But it’s fun!
We’ve got several investigators that still have the potential to be baptized this month, we’ve just got to help them take the last few steps.  But we’re teaching some pretty great people right now.

I think the best part of the week was church yesterday though.  For a couple of reasons.  The first was that one of the less actives that we’ve been working with came to church after 15 years of inactivity.  And what was even more amazing was the way that the ward welcomed him back.  Everyone was talking to him, and in their prayers they were all giving thanks that he came back.  Afterward he said that he didn’t think that even that many people would remember him, let alone recognize him and treat him so well.  And the better part is that he was that there are seven members of his family that are not members, and he is so excited and wants them all to get baptized!  So we’ll be working a lot with them!

Then the other part of church that was cool was the Gospel Principles class.  We watched the short video of the Restoration and then everyone shared their testimony about it (there were only recent converts and less actives and members) and the spirit was so strong!  Everybody felt it, and it strengthened my testimony even more of the Restoration of this church!  Then, during Sacrament Meeting right afterwards, it just so happens that opening hymn was “Joseph Smith’s First Prayer” and the Spirit was even stronger.  Then, during the testimony meeting several people got up and testified specifically of the First Vision, and the Spirit just filled me!  It was one of the most spiritual experiences in church that I’ve had in all of my mission!  It was amazing!

Then, to make it better, today in the morning I was writing the date, and realized that it was two years to the date since I had received my endowments in the Palmyra Temple, and later that day went to the Sacred Grove, the very place where Joseph Smith received his First Vision, and where I gained such a strong testimony of it.  It is amazing!  I know that it’s true!  I know that Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ appeared to Joseph Smith, and that through him the Church and Priesthood were restored!!!! I love it so much!
And here’s a funny from church…:)
My whole Ward is old here, I’m not even kidding.  They are all retired.  And here’s proof.  One of them, yesterday during their testimony, testified that President Benson is God’s living prophet guiding the church today.:)  Yes, President Benson!  He died before I was even born!  But I guess at one point he was a living prophet too:)  Oh, and also, the whole ward in their testimonies all testified about death.  That was weird too…
I love you all!  Have a great week!  Share the góspel with somebody!
¡Les quiero un monton!
Elder Trenton Behunin
2016-6-6 my first haircut in 4 months!!!!!!!
My 1st haircut in 4 months!!!!
Leave a Reply

