Almost a white Christmas! And Happy 2016!

 
Dear Family and Friends!

Yes, I know that Christmas was a week and a half ago, but I didn’t have time to write a letter last week and it was just so exciting that I have to share it this week!
So the whole week before Christmas it started to get really cold, so cold that I actually wore my coat a couple times (remember that it’s summer down here right now (like end of June beginning of July up there).  So the whole week, I was like, “It’s going to snow for Christmas, it’s going to snow for Christmas!”  So on Christmas morning, I woke up, and…it was raining.  Almost, but not quite what I was hoping for.  And it rained all day.  I’m talking the patio behind our little chapel in Calafate flooded because it rained so much!  Christmas day was fun! I got to talk with the family, which was way fun!  We also had permission to watch animated movies, so we watched “Lego” and “Inside Out,” both of which were really good (especially “Inside Out”).  We also grilled up some chickens and yeah, it was a party!  Then we headed back to the pension and went to bed.  And when we woke up the next morning (the 26th) there was SNOW!  I was so excited!  There wasn’t enough to do anything with it, but there was snow!  It was so cool!  (And it was really cold!)
Oh, and then, the 25th at night, the mission gave me a Christmas present too!  I’m going to be a MOM!  All right, I don’t know what it’s like the in the rest of the world, but here in my mission, your trainer is your dad, and if you have two trainers the second one is your mom (Elder Flores is my dad and Elder Tyler is my mom, in the mission).  My son is named Elder Romero, from a town called Mar de Ajó in the province of Buenos Aires.  I’m back in Comodoro, which is really weird but really cool!  It’s really weird to see all the places where I had been a whole year ago!  Now I’m in a neighborhood in the southern part of the city called Maximo Abasalo.  And I think that the best part is that I have lunch almost every day!  Finally!  I don’t have to cook every day now!  I think I’m going to start putting on weight again though, I lost like 10 pounds in Calafate because I would eat normal portion sizes instead of the ridiculous amount of food that I eat with the members because the members make so much and it is so good!
New Years was really cool as well!  Comodoro lit up the sky!  It was way cool because we were right in the middle of it all, with fireworks going off on all sides.  Unfortunately I had forgotten my camera in the pension, so I don’t have any photos:(
I hope that you all have a fantastic week and a very Happy New Year!  I can’t believe 2016 has already arrived!
¡Les quiero un monton!
Elder Trenton Behunin

My Christmas Corner! I loved my decorations. Our nametags on the tree!

My white Christmas. I love the flamingos in the snow!!

P1040549

My favorite graffitti in Calafate!  (They were trying to say Calafate Art (Calafate Arte)) but well…

P1040560

Final goodbyes to my district in Calafate!

Leave a Reply

