It’s warming up down here!

Dear Family and Friends!
This week has been a pretty good week.  It’s warming up down here so there’s not so much the danger of slipping on the ice, just the danger of losing your shoe in the mud.  It was so warm the other day I didn’t even wear a sweater under my coat, it was a whole 2°C (35°F)!
Some pretty cool things happened this week.  The first was one of the investigators we found the week before.  His name is Javier and we revisited him this last Saturday and taught him the Restoration.  He goes to a church that is really kind of weird, they don’t play soccer, they can’t have pictures of Jesus, and the men and women have to sit seperately in church.  The last person that we talked to from that church was absolutely crazy (he’s the guy we made doubt everything about his church and he got really mad and kicked us out of his house).  So we were a little nervous teaching the Restoration, but he absolutely loved it and said, “You guys have to be the true church because everything you teach you find in the Bible!”  He absolutely loved the idea of prophets and said that he would come to Church on Sunday.  So we went and picked him up before Church and he went and he loved it!  It was Testimony Meeting and he wanted to get up and share his testimony but we taught him so much about the need for authority that he overinterpreted it and thought that he couldn’t get up because he didn’t have the authority!  So we had to clarify that part!
The other cool thing that happened this week was with one of my favorite families here in Austral, (identity protected).  They are an investigator family that have that are just so amazing!  Their son participated in the killing of man, but he didn’t actually commit the crime.  And he’s been in prison for nearly a year without a trial.  Well they finally held the trial and he was convicted to 13 years in prison.  We generally visit them every Thursday but this last Thursday something came up and we didn’t plan for them.  And that same day something happened with the phones because the network was down.  So everything was falling that night, appointments with people that never fall through and we were frustrated.  So we decided to call this family and they answered and were like “We’ve been trying to call all day!  Come over, fast!”  So we walked in and there was their son!  He was allowed to go home to be with his family.  He can’t leave the house, but atleast he’s with his family!
Tell you what, the Primary is fantastic!  They asked me to come play the piano with them yesterday and it was so fantastic!  So much more entertaining than priesthood!  But tell you what, I don’t know if I could teach it, I don’t think I have enough patience!
Have a fantastic week!  Share the gospel with someone!
And, HAPPY ANNIVERSARY MOM AND DAD!  You guys are fantastic!  I love you so  much!
¡Les quiero un monton!
Elder Trenton Behunin
2015-8-2 My boots from the mud 2015-8-1 The Restoration of the Gospel of Jesus Christ
My boots from the mud. The restoration of the Gospel!
2015-8-1 An Anchor we found on the beach 2015-8-1 Cool Frost one morning
An Anchor we found on the beach.      Cool Frost one morning!
2015-7-30 My Area 2015-7-30 More of my Area
My Area
2 thoughts on “It’s warming up down here!

  1. I am so happy it is warming up for you! I stopped and visited your mom and siblings on the way home from Oregon to wish your folks a happy anniversary. I mentioned that although you have had to deal with some super nasty weather, you will be enjoying beautiful weather when we are freezing up here. Sorry you have to deal with the mud and soggy clothes in the meantime.

    I am just leaving for Montana to spend the next couple of months and enjoy my place there. I went up earlier this summer and spent a lot of time painting my motorhome. It will be fun to get it all finished up. It looks so cute! I am looking forward to the cooler weather there. St. George is just too hot for me in the summertime.

    The family reunion was great in Oregon. We had a beautiful house there just a few steps from the beach, and the weather was perfect. The only thing that would have made it better would have been if you and your family could have been there. Next time, I hope. I guess we’ll just have to get used to being short a person or two while we have missionaries out.

    Keep up the incredible work, Trenton. It is so wonderful to hear your stories. It is so interesting to me how the Gospel fits so well into all walks of life. There are so many people experiencing so many different kinds of trials, and the Gospel is there for them. They just don’t know it yet. That is why you are there. I just hope that I can always do my part to help prepare others to receive the missionaries when they have the opportunity, and to accept the Gospel.

    Love you tons! Grandma Bea

    Like

Leave a Reply

