Me encanta ver el templo

Dear Family and Friends!

This week has been pretty good, minus the weather.  It has done
nothing but rain here and be foggy all week.  But besides that this
week has been amamzing because of one big event that we had:  the
dedication of the Córdoba Temple!

But before I talk about that, I’ll talk about the service project that
we did in the rain.  For those of you that don’t know, they rarely
build houses out of wood here, very rarely.  They build everything out
of cement.  But here in Rio Grande, you can’t build houses here in the
winter because it is so cold that the cement doesn’t bond correctly.
But some people still build their houses at that time of year.  So the
house that we were helping with had that problem, and the ceiling
didn’t bond correctly.  To fix that problem the owner but a ton of
metal sheets on the roof with 70 bricks weighing he said about 40 lbs
each.  The problem was that they didn’t angle the roof and it rained a
ton this week, so somehow the rain got under the metal and into the
house.  So we had to, in the rain, take these bricks off the roof and
the metal pieces.  That was a job!  We were there for a couple hours,
soaking wet, but it was fantastic!  Elder Escamilla would lower down
one with a rope and hook (probably not the safest method, but it
worked:)) and I would take and stack them.  And we managed to only
break three!  It was pretty fantastic!

“Me encanta ver el templo” or “I Love to see the Temple.”  Can I just
tell you how much I miss the temple!  As of right now there are two
temples in Argentina, Buenos Aires being the closer one, about a 3
hour flight, or I don’t even want to know how many day bus ride,
probably like 4 days.  So needless to say, we don’t get to go to the
temple down here.  But I did get a temple experience yesterday, and it
was amazing!  The second temple in Argentina, Córdoba, was dedicated
yesterday and broadcasted all over Argentina.  They say with the
dedications that the chapels are extensions of the temple and I want
to testify to all of you of that. We entered the Sacrament room (I
can’t remember if there’s a special word for that in English) I
immediately felt that peace envelop my body that I’ve only felt in two
other places: the temple (all of them) and the Sacred Grove.  And let
me just tell you how amazing it was!  Every problem, every worry,
every stress that come naturally with mission service and with life in
general was washed away as I was able to sit and meditate before that
dedicatory session.  The veil was thin, and I could feel the presence
of my Lord and Savior so powerfully.  He loves us, and that is why we
have these temples.  For those of you that attend regularly, keep
going, and for those of you that haven’t recently, go, please!  There
are so many blessings that we have the possibility of enjoying inside
the temple, and we need to take advantage of them.  I never realized
how blessed I was to live in Utah and to have so many temples so close
to my home!  When the session ended I didn’t want to leave!  It just
felt so amazing!

That morning I was studying a little bit of the dedicatory prayer of
the Kirtland Temple in D&C 109 and there were two verses that really
stuck out to me, vs. 22-23.  They say “And we ask thee, Holy Father,
that thy servants may go forth from this house armed with thy power,
and that thy name may be upon them, and thy glory be round about them,
and thine angels have charge over them; and from this place they may
bear exceedingly great and glorious tidings, in truth, unto the ends
of the earth, that they may know that this is thy work, and that thou
hast put forth thy hand, to fulfil that which thou hast spoken by the
mouths of the prophets, concerning the last days.”  Then, during the
dedication, Elder Chrisoffersen quoted those verses.  And they are so
true.  There is power in the temple!  I was able to walk out feeling
refreshed, uplifted and ready to declare to the ends of the earth
(quite literally) the message of this gospel!  They truly are
“exceedingly great and glorious tidings”  that I have the opportunity
to carry to the people of Argentina!

Elder Christoffersen and President Uchtdorf were the ones that spoke
at the dedication.  Elder Christoffersen said something really cool
that I had to write down.  He said (roughly translated) that “We will
need miracles if we are going to accomplish everything that God has
required of us, and we they will happen if we are doing everything
that we can do to further that work.”  It was really cool!  If you
think about it God really has required a lot of us, but he does not
require that we do it without his help.  If we are doing what we can
to share the gospel and prepare names to go to the temple, miracles
will happen!  We have that promise!  We just need to get out there and
do the work!  Then, President Uchtdorf doesn’t speak Spanish but tried
to start his talk in Spanish.  He later said that when the Quorum of
the Twelve and First Presidency were talking about the Córdoba Temple,
President Monson was trying to speak Spanish, so he decided to give it
a shot.  Then he said “Those of you who didn’t understand me when I
was speaking, I was not speaking German!”  He was cracking jokes in
the temple!  And he cracked a couple more too when he was talking!  It
was fantastic!  He talked about three of Jesus’s temple experience:
when he was twelve, when he cleansed it, and his last words in the
temple before his crucifixion and what we can learn from that!  It was
fantastic!  And the greatest part was that I understood everything!
And it was way cool doing everything in Spanish, like singing “The
Spirit of God” and doing the hosanna chant in Spanish!

That experience was so beautiful!  I will never forget it!  And I
can’t wait to see it again!  I words of “I Love to see the Temple are
running through my head right now, “I love to see the temple, I’ll go
inside someday.”  I can’t wait for that day!  It will be amazing!  But
in the meantime I will be working as hard as I can so that the people
down here in southern Argentina can have a temple!  That’s our mission
goal!  Our eyes are on the temple, and we are trying to point the eyes
of the Saints down here there as well!  And I definitely feel that the
dedication of the Córdoba temple is going to help!

And before I forget, I would like to wish my Beautiful Mother a Happy
Birthday this week and thank her for all the many wonderful things
that she has done and still does for me in my life!

¡Les quiero!

Elder Trenton Edward Behunin

2015-5-15 Sunrise from my pension 2015-5-11 Fog at night

2015-5-12 Another Foggy Day View from my pension

2015-5-15 It rained really hard today

2015-5-11 Left side starting in front Elder Neiwert, My comp Elder Escamilla, Elder Ferguson, Right Me E. Watkins and E. Hously

Leave a Reply

