Oct 5, 2014 Emails

So Trenton had me stressed out. I was so looking forward to hearing from him and I get an email that said, “Today is my P-day but I cannot write.” Then nothing for a week. So here are the first two letters I got from him. What a relief to finally know where he was in Argentina and that he wad doing alright.

 
Sorry about last week, the Internet stopped working while I was in the Internet Cafe, and there really wasn’t anything I could do, I’m super sorry, but here’s the letter from last week!

Hey Everybody,

I would have wrote yesterday but everything was closed for something or other, a holiday like Labor Day I´m assuming!  I can´t believe that I’m actually here, it’s crazy, especially that I’ve been here for a week!
My companion is named Elder Flores, and he is fantastic, although he doesn’t speak a lick of English, which makes communication extremely difficult sometimes, although I’m learning very fast. It does get frustrating sometimes though, but I just need to have patience with myself.  He honestly is one of the most Christ like people I have ever met.  When I first met him, he said (in Spanish) “My job is to serve you, so let me.”
Missionary work is definitely not easy.  When we showed up at the MTC back in August, they told us that being at the MTC was like drinking out of a fire hydrant.  It’s really refreshing but you really get pounded and don’t get a whole lot out of it sometimes.  If the MTC was like drinking out of a fire hydrant, the field is like drinking straight from the base of Niagara Falls.  I have never felt the Spirit so strong in my life, but it is an information overload!  And I don’t even get half of it because I don’t understand what my companion is saying half the time!:)  I just nod and say “Uh-huh,”  then sometimes figure it out about five minutes later!   But it definitely is a blast, in more ways than one!
It’s cool working with real people now!  Oh yeah, I nearly forgot!!  My first area is in Comodoro Norte, Kilometras B.  For those of you that know Comodoro (Brother Uboldi), I live in Kilometras 5.  Here in Comodoro, we work a lot with less active members because there are a lot of them.  One of the goals in the mission is to get a temple in the Patagonia, and in order to be considered for one, they need 2-3 more stakes.  In order to get that, they need a 25% reactivation rate of less active members, so we’ve been pounding that because other people don’t like to open their doors.
Love you all,
Elder Trenton Behunin
¡Hola familia y amigos!

¿Como están?
I’m super sorry about last week, I’ve felt super bad all week!
This past week has been great, though we haven’t got a whole lot done.  We had a zone conference with the President on Tuesday, a zone conference on Friday, and General Conference on Saturday and Sunday!
I love it here, I’m finally starting to pick up on more Spanish, I can kind of pick up the message of what people are trying to say, although I still zone out quite often because I still don’t understand, just pick up a word here or there in the middle of a sentence.  The harder I concentrate, the more I get, but my head hurts after a while!
I am in a hard area, last week we scheduled atleast 3 appointments every day and all but two fell through.  But that’s okay because we’ve been able to do a lot of contacting and we’ve ran into some very promising people, including one that I’m 99% sure will get baptized.  We showed up at her door and taught for about 10 minutes just about eternal families (by we I mean Elder Flores, I was trying to figure out what was going on:)).  But the Spirit was SO strong, I’m so excited for the lesson with her next week!
General Conference was amazing!  I loved how they did the foreign language talk things!  I was talking to a Peruvian Hermana afterward and she told me how thrilled everyone was because now they are able to listen to a General Conference talk in their own tongue, untranslated, which is something that I think we take for granted being able to speak English.  I did get to watch it in English thankfully.  My favorite talk was probably the one given in Cantonese.  The members here need to learn that they need to get involved, I just hope that they were paying attention.  Us missionaries cannot do it alone, it will never work.  We need the members help!  I also loved Elder Bednar’s talk in the last session about missionary work.  I especially loved the scripture he quoted about how the gospel needed to be taken “even unto the end of the world.”  #ArgCMRV!  That’s our mission scripture, because we really are preaching to the End of the World, at the End of the World!
So for p-day today we hiked to an overlook over the city (hopefully some of the pictures send).  It was way cool, we could see for forever!  We took some pictures, and then like the teenagers we are, threw rocks off the cliff.  Don’t worry, we checked, there was nobody that we could see:).  They fell a long ways!  We had lunch up there and kind of just chilled (quite literally, the wind was crazy and a little bit cold) and then came down to email.
For anyone that’s interested, I did check and my toilet flushes clockwise.  I checked multiple times, although I don’t remember which way it goes in the States (it’s been too long, I can’t remember anything:)).
I love you all so much!
¡Les quiero!
Elder Trenton Behunin
P1000298 (1) P1000315 P1000323
Here are some pictures of Comodoro. And Trenton with his companion Elder Flores.
Leave a Reply

