Days are like weeks, and weeks, well…

Hola familia y amigos!!!

 
Our first day at the MTC, we had a meeting with our zone, where our zone leaders told us that days are like weeks and weeks are like days.  I can personally attest that days are like weeks, although I have yet to see the whole weeks are like days thing.  It feels like an eternity since I got dropped off! We are so busy!  After I got dropped off, they gave me my name tag and books and put me on a bus off to the west campus, where all of the Spanish speaking missionaries go.  I hear that we are so lucky over here because we get to stay in the college dorms (Wyview) so we have three bedrooms for our five elders, a living room, a kitchen, and a bathroom in our residence hall.  It´s not like we spend any time there though:)  I then went to our classroom, where I met my teacher Hno. Hammond, who is fantastic, and my district, who are also fantastic!  I have two companions instead of one, Elder Perry and Elder Goodman.  Elder Perry is going to Bahia Blanca and Elder Goodman is going to Comodoro Rivadavia as well.  We are getting along really well, although it does get annoying at night when we all have to sleep in the same room so we have to pull a mattress in from one of the other rooms and put it on the floor.  But its all good though, once, I`m asleep, it doesn’t even matter!:)  Our district leader is Elder George and his companion is Elder Furtig, and then we have a solo sister, Hma. Story.  Sometimes, I feel bad for her being stuck all day in a classroom of five guys.  But I have a great district, we get along really well and everthing moves really smoothly.At dinner that night, we were sitting next to an elder who warned us about the eggs at breakfast.  He said, and I quote “they will cause un exploción en el baño!”  Let’s just say I’ve avoided the eggs, I don’t even want to test his claim:)  They feed us well here though, we have had salmon, tilapia, lasagna, and lots of other things, and its not like they put a limit on how much you can eat, so I have eaten myself beyond full every meal.  I should probably be careful about that because although we have an hour of working out, I don’t burn nearly enough calories sitting in a classroom. I can see overeating one meal, but every meal, I should probably be careful:)  On Thursday we had a meeting with our branch presidency.  They were fantastic!  It was a really long meeting, but it was definitely worth it!  At that meeting, I was a assigned to be the first senior companion for our companionship, but that will only last two weeks instead of the normal three because we are a threesome.  Then came Friday, which felt more like two weeks than just one:)  We started off the day teaching our first investigator at 7:15 in the morning, right after breakfast.  Her name is Alejandra and she is amazing! She moved to Provo seven months ago with her boyfriend, but since she can’t speak English, so she can’t find a job and she is studying at BYU.  The rest of the zone says that she’s just acting, but everyone in my district is convinced that she is legit, and I sincerely hope so!  I was super nervous about teaching in Spanish, but everything went really well and we are teaching her again tonight! The gift of tongues is real!!!  After she left, we did personal study until gym time, after which was lunch, three more hours of studying, dinner, three more hours of studying, and then our evening song and testimony meeting with our zone at around 9:00.  After that, we returned home and went to bed at 10:30 (the first night we actually got to bed on time because of different things affecting our schedules, we would have gone to bed at 10:30 every night if we could have:)).  This morning we got up early to go to the temple.  It was fantastic, although partway through the session I realized that I had left my key in my lock, so that kind of freaked me out.  I was in the temple though, so I figured I didn’t have anything to worry about, and I was right.:)  After that we went over to main campus just to kind of see things around there.  It was cool, but I’m definitely glad that I’m here over on west campus.:)  I love the MTC, there is such an amazing spirit here that you can get nowhere else.  The air is full of missionary work and brotherly love.  It is amazing!  I love you guys so much!
 
Con cariño,
 
Elder Trenton Behunin
Leave a Reply

